Animated Animals

Friday Fun today.  Over the years there have been many cartoon characters modeled after animals.  Their anthropomorphic qualities have introduced wildlife to children, adults, and everyone in between.

 

With stories and voices, the animals come to life–thanks to the animators and voice actors.  Of course a real roadrunner doesn’t say “beep-beep” and a real rabbit is not nearly as cheeky as Bugs Bunny.

 

But sometimes fiction is just what we need.

 

Here are a few of the favorites in both versions:  the animated and the real life.  The characters for Daffy Duck, Bugs Bunny, and Porky Pig were less specific in species, so I took liberties.

 

Photo credit:  Athena Alexander

 

Wile E Coyote.png

Wile E. Coyote created by Chuck Jones. Courtesy Wikipedia.

Coyote, California

Coyote, California. Canis latrans ochropus

 

 

 

 

 

 

Roadrunner looney tunes.png

The Road Runner created by Chuck Jones and Michael Maltese. Courtesy Wikipedia

Roadrunner, California

Roadrunner, California. Genus Geococcyx

 

 

 

 

 

477098-villi

Woody Woodpecker created by Hardaway, Blanc, Webb. Courtesy Wikia

 

Pileated Woodpecker, California

Pileated Woodpecker, California. Dryocopus pileatus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Daffy Duck.svg

Daffy Duck created by Tex Avery. Courtesy Wikipedia

 

Wood Duck, male, Calif.

Wood Duck, male, Calif. Aix spansa

 

 

 

 

 

 

Classic bugsbunny.png

Bugs Bunny created by Hardaway, Dalton, Avery. Courtesy Wikipedia

Jackrabbit, Nevada. Genus Lepus

Jackrabbit, Nevada. Genus Lepus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

from The Bugs Bunny Show (1960-2000). Courtesy Wikipedia

 

Porky pig-5171

Porky Pig created by Bob Clampett. Courtesy Wikia

Warthog, Zambia. Phacochoerus africanus

Warthog, Zambia. Phacochoerus africanus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

69 thoughts on “Animated Animals

  1. Jet I love this! As a kid my brother used to watch Bugs Bunny and the Road Runner every Saturday at 5pm. Such happy memories. I do think the animators took quite a creative license!

    • Thanks for your great comment, Sue. Yes, animators took creative license to a new degree, but I think it’s great because it got people, like your brother for instance, interested in wild animals. Always a treat to hear from you, your enthusiasm is such a joy.

    • Aren’t they? I look today at some of the animation that is out now and it is really remarkable. And the cartoons and cartoonists from the past brought so much life to us as well. Thanks for stopping by, Jan.

  2. Excellent idea Jet! Now we’re all immersed into the past. We all have cartoons memories as vivid as real History. They became part of our upbringing, so much that is deeply engraved in our minds. I loved all cartoons characters dearly! Thanks my friend for this post! 🙂

    • And how wonderful to have these cartoon characters be animals. I loved your comment so much, HJ, thank you, as always. I wanted to do Tweetie Bird but I didn’t have a photo of a canary. ha.

  3. I love this post (like everyone else), Jet. After reading your post, I have even greater respect for cartoonist! How did they do it? I mean created all these adorable cartoon characters. Thank you for writing this.

  4. What a fun post! I think it was the Road Runner cartoon that created the huge thrill of seeing one in real life at del Apache. I love your imagination to link these characters together like you did!

    • I am certain the road runner cartoon did the same for me, Gunta. And how many countless others could say the same thing. So glad you enjoyed the post, my friend — thank you for your visits and comments.

  5. Great post…just took me down memory lane, but I do remember how it actually did help educate us…I remember growing up in Iowa and on one of our many trips to California to visit family…as kids we couldn’t wait to actually see a road runner…love it!!

  6. Pingback: gaby3ds1

    • It’s a fun thing to contemplate, all the various forms of animals we have in our lives–lives ones, real ones, and imaginary too. I’m glad you enjoyed the animated animals post, Dina. My thanks~~

Leave a Reply

