Yellowstone’s Lower Falls

Lower Falls, Yellowstone. Look closely at upper left hand corner for green stripe.

Lower Falls, Yellowstone. Look closely at upper left hand corner for green stripe.

There are 290 waterfalls of at least 15 feet (4.6m) high in Yellowstone National Park.  The highest one, Lower Falls, is also the most powerful.

 

Feeding from the Yellowstone River, it boasts the largest volume of water of all waterfalls in the Rocky Mountains.

 

Located in the state of Wyoming, near Yellowstone’s Canyon Village, Lower Falls can be accessed via a loop road as well as trails.

 

One of Yellowstone’s most popular sights, Lower Falls is 308 feet tall (twice the height of Niagara).  Up river, out of sight from Lower Falls, is Upper Falls.

 

Lower Falls Canyon

Lower Falls Canyon

Click here for info on Yellowstone Falls.  Click here for National Park Service waterfall video and aerial photos.

 

Surrounding the Lower Falls are majestic canyons, known as the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone.  Carved by the Yellowstone River, it is 24 miles (39km) long and 1,200 feet (370m) deep.

 

Natural features and activities such as rhyolite rock and other minerals, hydrothermal alteration, erosion, and oxidizing resulted in the unique coloration of the canyon.  More about the Canyon here.

 

The chromatic canyons, raging waterfalls, and rushing river present  breathtaking vistas.

 

I have memorable images of wonderful waterfalls all over this earth, but my favorite feature here at Lower Falls is the green stripe.

 

Look closely (first photo) at the upper left hand side of the waterfall, you may be able to see the bright green stripe of water.

 

It is mesmerizing to be there in person, watching.  Emerald water plunging over the brink of the falls.

 

There is a notch there that makes the water deeper, and keeps it from becoming frothy, thereby causing the water to appear darker as it rushes over the edge.

 

Lower Falls & Yellowstone River

Lower Falls & Yellowstone River

In this spectacular place where humans have lived for 11,000 years, time shifts.  Amid lakes, mountain ranges, waterfalls, wild animals, and thousands of geysers; it is impossible to see everything in two weeks, or even a lifetime.

 

But being here, seeing what Native Americans, explorers, presidents, and millions of other viewers have revered over the centuries, you can breathe in the marvels and know utter fortune.

 

Photo credit:  Athena Alexander

 

65 thoughts on “Yellowstone’s Lower Falls

  1. those are beautiful falls
    you bring me to this morning.
    inspires me to get out the canoe
    and run the russian
    and portaging around
    the diversion dam 🙂

    • I am smiling with the thought of inspiring you to canoe today, David. So many, many people the Lower Falls have inspired, including you and me. Thanks so much, and have great fun portaging!

  2. When I saw this falls and all the beautiful surroundings I was in awe! How gorgeous is Earth! Thanks my friend for the memories! 🙂

    • How gorgeous, indeed, is our Earth. I am tickled to have reminded you of your visit, HJ, and as always, am very grateful for your comment and kind words.

    • I believe it, Sue. Because there is so much beauty all over the globe, and never enough time to see it all. You’ve done a good job, however, of seeing so much. And when you do get to Yellowstone, I know you and Dave will enjoy it. Thank you for your visit today!

  3. Fascinating stratigraphy post,dear Jet!Fabulous photo series and sceneries that take the breath away!I double-clicked the first photo and I had a glimpse of the emerald stripe of water!I can imagine the natural gushing fountains and the rich wildlife in the surrounding region.After diving into your underwater paradise,I came up to surface to marvel at the rare beauty of those landscapes.All the best to you and Athena ~ Have a splendid day 🙂

    • I am so happy you found the emerald stripe Doda! Today you’ve been under the Coral Sea and traversing the beauties of Yellowstone too. Thank you so much for your visits, and I am really glad you enjoyed my posts. I hope you, too, have more wonders ahead in your day. **(+/+)**

  4. Yellowstone is a very remarkable and beautiful place. We camped there at least three times when the boys were little. We stood under one of the waterfalls once.

    • “Grand beauty” is a great way to describe it, Sharon. It’s no wonder it is such a popular place. Thanks so much, as always, for your frequent visits and comments, my friend.

  5. Magnificent! And that green stripe is fascinating. Thx for pointing it out! I see so much more through your eyes, J.

    • I realized the green stripe was pretty small and might not be visible, but I decided to point it out anyway, and I’m glad I did. Really glad you saw it Nan! Thanks so much!

  6. It’s hard to come up with words to describe the magnificence of this place ……..a word that I feel is often misused is ‘Awesome’ – however in this case it truly applies. Thank you so much for reminding us of the amazing beauty in our world. Janet:)

  7. You said it so well – a spectacular landscape, almost timeless. I love landscapes that provoke thought and an emotional response. Thanks for sharing it today! Our utter good fortune:)

  8. Jet, I was at Yellowstone when I was a teenager. When I saw the vastness of not only Yellowstone but the Grand Canyon, I could not believe my eyes. This is one part of the United States I really want to revisit and this time for as long as I like. Of course I will bring my camera. 🙂 ❤ I still to this day have sand from the Red Dessert. ❤

  9. Another lovely post of such an amazing place, closer to home for many of us than your other exotic travels. I last visited Yellowstone in ’79. It’s quite a place.

  10. I’m so happy to read your post and gain this information, Jet! In our upcoming travels out West, Yellowstone is top on the list, maybe in August. I will now be sure to see the Lower Falls! 🙂

    • Oh you said it, Ingrid — so much to see! Have fun, my friend, and thanks for stopping by. BTW I’m going to the Crane Foundation in WI next month, thanks so much for your great posts on it.

Leave a Reply

