Gold Wire Flower

Hypericum coccinum, aka Gold Wire, California

Hypericum coccinum, aka Gold Wire, California

This lovely flower opens every spring, and lasts for much of the summer.  It used to be that I cut back the dried-up brown foliage when the plant was done flowering.

 

But then one year I left the brown foliage up several weeks longer until the seeds dropped, before I cut it back.  It was more unsightly, but I discovered these wild flowers were re-seeding and multiplying.  I’ve done this for several years, and now we have dozens of big fluffy clumps of the gold wire plants.

 

Hooking into the natural rhythms goes a long way.

 

Photo credit:  Athena Alexander

 

34 thoughts on “Gold Wire Flower

    • I think we all know how it goes when we want to rush something that just will not be rushed…natural rhythms are the answer. Thanks so much dear Nan, I hope your weekend is terrific. 😀

  1. Ah, I love this plant and have it myself in the garden. “Johanniskraut” they are called in German and is known as a medicinal plant. I like so much their golden radiant flowers and later this bright red berries. 🙂

  2. I do that with my rudbeckia, and I’ve even gotten to like the way the seed heads looks with snow. And I have black-eyed susans all over my yard. Somehow echinancea doesn’t seem to spread the same way. Shame, it’s so pretty.

  3. What a lovely surprise you must have had to see the clusters of golden flowers! Indeed, nature has spectacular ways of following its lifecycle!
    Splendid photo here too! The ladybug on the yellow of the flowers makes for a real color “pop”!
    Happy weekend!
    *Lia

    • It was truly a lovely surprise. Every spring I find myself searching out each clump on our property to see how they’re doing after the winter. Kind of you, Lia, to share this with me. 😀

  4. It’s such a pleasure to discover flowers you like spreading on their own. Then again it’s a lesson in keeping the pesky one under control without resorting to chemical warfare. Very lovely image of the flower with a ladybug for a bonus.

    • I totally agree Gunta. There’s many ways to have a flourishing landscape without bringing in the chemicals, you just have to know what the flower wants. Glad you enjoyed the post my friend! 😀

  5. What a vibrant, happy flower to have re-seeding in your yard! I’m so glad you discovered how to let it multiply. And I LOVE the Thirteen-Spotted Lady Beetle perched on the blossom! (One of my fun thing to do every summer is to see how many different ladybugs I can find and identify). Although the Thirteen-Spotters are native to Canada, I haven’t seen one in a long time, so I’m especially delighted to see it here on your beautiful Gold Wire. Enjoy your bursts of colour! :))

    • How delightful to know that this is a thirteen-spotted lady beetle! Thanks Jeannie, I’m smiling as I type, appreciating this new info; and your warm and cheerful comment. 😀 😀

  6. Carl and Hertha are smiling. Not only about your horticultural endeavors and appreciation, but with your love for birds, and life in general!

    • Well thank you so much tminch. I don’t usually bring up my horticultural background on this blog, because the site is more about wildlife and travel, but this is wildlife-related. And I surely attribute my horticultural skills to Carl and Hertha, so I appreciate your comment very much. I’m smiling very big. Looking forward to seeing you next month! 😀

    • Thanks so much, Teagan, for the visit, great to hear from you. I’m delighted you enjoyed the gold wire and ladybug photo — I find it so cheerful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

