Emerald Dove

Emerald Dove, Australia

Emerald Dove, Queensland, Australia

The Emerald Dove, also called the Green Pigeon, is an unusual pigeon in that it lives in tropical rainforests.  Although we are accustomed to–even cavalier–about  living with pigeons in urban settings, doves and pigeons are everywhere on this earth, with over 300 species.

 

So-named for his dazzling emerald back, Chalcophaps indica are common in northern and eastern Australia, as well as tropical Asia and India. Similar to many pigeons, they are about 10 inches (25 cm) long and sport numerous colors:  emerald, rufous, black, white, pink, and gray with a bright red bill and legs.  The male, seen here, has a white patch on his shoulder.

 

The sounds of the Australian rainforest are different than the Amazon, because the birds are different.  The whipbird, for example, lives here; it sounds like a really loud cracking whip.  With the many raucous sounds in this rainforest, the gentle, persistent, low cooing of the emerald dove lends a mellow accompaniment.

 

For an added delight, you may see this dove’s rich, verdant back flying low, weaving through this seemingly impenetrable forest.

 

Photo credit:  Athena Alexander

40 thoughts on “Emerald Dove

  1. Jet I love the description in the forest as though a choir of birds is singing in harmony. The dove sounds like the flute section to me. Perhaps the whip birds are on percussion. Another lovely photo where that orange beak leaps off the branch.

    • The sounds of the Aus. rainforest are unbelievable. While writing this post and thinking about the sounds, I realized there’s a new post to write about. So very glad, dear Sue, that you enjoyed the post. Have yourself a wonderful weekend…. 😀

  2. It’s sad to see city pigeons living on people food and how deformed and sick they get from our fast food– you’d think we would wake up. Great picture

  3. What a beautiful bird!!! I learn so much from your posts and the pics are great (thanks Athena)……I was fascinated by your description of the sounds being different between the two rain forests!!! Thank you!!!

    • I’m really grateful for your comment, Kirt. As I was writing this it occurred to me that many people might think all rainforests sound alike. But they are vastly different, so I put that sentence in to clarify, and I see from your comment that it was new information. Very glad you enjoyed the post, Kirt; and appreciate your feedback today and all days. 😀

    • It truly is, my friend, and how fortunate that it is common in some parts of the world, because then many people get to see this beautiful bird. Thanks so much for your comment and visit. 😀

    • There’s something about the light of the rainforest, too, that brings out these colors, the emerald and yes the orange too. Very glad you enjoyed it, Mary, and I am not surprised that the colors are what draw your painterly eyes. 😀

    • I thought they were so lovely too, Gill — so I’m glad you enjoyed this. I thought you would enjoy the dove because your sharing of the doves in your homeland, their beauties and nuances, their distinct silhouettes, is equally as lovely. 😀 😀

    • Doves and pigeons do have the gentle sounds, and this emerald dove is so spectacular. I’m delighted you enjoyed it dear Nan. Thank you so very much. 😀 😀

  4. Such beautiful birds you have described from the rainforests of Queensland. The green pigeon species is indeed colourful! A lovely composition of the photo and write-up here, Jet. Have a nice weekend, my friend. 🙂

    • Thanks so much Iris. It was a fun post to compose because I got to listen to some recordings in my research that brought back all the rainforest sounds. And I realized there are still some really cool birds (you know Australia, so wildly different) there that I haven’t yet featured in my blog. I really appreciate your feedback and am delighted you enjoyed the emerald dove. My weekend is going well, I imagine yours is too, a great thing. 😀

  5. That is a lovely bird! Such beautiful colors! I can only imagine the sounds (and sights) in the Australian rainforests. I’d love to visit one day 🙂

  6. While the Mourning Doves that I am fortunate to have nesting near my home in Wisconsin is nowhere near as colorful as those in Athena’s picture, their gentle, almost sad (mournful) cooing makes up for that. It is a pleasure to hear them in the quiet of the early morning hours, or at any time of day, for that matter!

    • I agree with you, T, they are a delight to have outside one’s door. No matter what is going on in your mind, having that sweet cooing come through the window relaxes every situation and brings peace. A delight to chat! 😀

Leave a Reply

