Butchart Gardens

Begonias

Begonias

About a half hour drive north of Victoria, Canada are the famous Butchart Gardens.  Since so many of my blogging buddies are surrounded by snow and ice at the moment, I thought these photos might help thaw their bones.

 

Vancouver Island, Canada

Vancouver Island, Canada

The Butchart Gardens are formal gardens that were once lovingly created and maintained by Jennie Butchart.  In 1904 her husband Robert Pim Butchart extracted the natural limestone in this area for his cement company; while Jennie became the company’s chemist.  They built a home and estate near the limestone quarry.  Eventually their land was exhausted of the limestone and a large empty quarry pit remained.  Jennie had the pit lined with top soil and over the years developed formal gardens.  In later years their grandson and other family members turned the Gardens into a popular international destination.

 

Sunken Gardens

The Sunken Gardens, the original quarry pit

Among the formal gardens are:  The Sunken Gardens (pictured here), Rose Garden, Japanese Garden, and Italian Garden.  There are also many other flower-lined areas for public events such as the Concert Lawn and Stage, a Fireworks Lawn, and the Carousel Room.

 

Today it is one of the biggest tourist attractions for visitors and residents on Vancouver Island.   It is also a National Historic Site of Canada, and National Geographic named it one of the Top 10 Magnificent Gardens.  In it’s over 100 years of showmanship, the Butchart Gardens have received many prestigious awards.

 

Totem Pole, by Doug LaFortune, Tsawout First Nation

Totem Pole, by Doug LaFortune, Tsawout First Nation

If you ever visit the charming city of Victoria, it is an easy bus ride to The Gardens, and a wonderful place to soak in the sunshine on your back as you stroll along the paths of riotous colors and thriving plants.

 

Photo credit:  Athena Alexander

 

53 thoughts on “Butchart Gardens

  1. What a beautifully landscaped garden! They have a concert garden for music events… just reminds me of Melbourne’s Botanic garden. Thank you for the write up and photos, Jet 🙂

    • I am delighted you enjoyed it Iris. It is a great attraction not only for tourists, but because of those music and firework events, they do attract a lot of local residents as well. Many thanks for your kind comments. 😀

  2. Butchart Gardens or The Garden of Eden ?
    Brilliant post,superb presention and details,Jet Dear!You and Athena brought the spring earlier into my life ~ Splendid garden architecture,marvellous flower colours and amazing topiaries!I would never have imagined that a barren quarry pit could be turned into a Paradise!Many thanks for brightening my day!
    Happy Tuesday my dearest friend 🙂 xxx
    PS: I have mentioned in one of my yesterday comments,how much I like your header elephant image:)

    • I am delighted you enjoyed the Butchart Gardens post, dear Doda. I like this story of a woman who is looking out at a huge empty pit and decides to transform this hole in the earth into a garden. I love that kind of spirit! I am happy to know it accelerated spring into your life! And thanks so much for the post script about the elephant header, as I somehow missed it yesterday and so I was glad to go back and find it and respond. So glad you liked seeing the elephants enjoying the Chobe River. My best to you for a great Tuesday dearest Doda. 😀

  3. Jet thank you for featuring one of Canada’s lovely spots. Isn’t it a beautiful place. Definitely a must see if visiting Vancouver Island. thanks for the thawing images. It won’t be long now and spring will find us.

    • It was a pleasure touring around Vancouver Island, Sue, it is all so very beautiful. I was surprised to hear that they have the milder weather there and that people retire in the Victoria community. You certainly have a beautiful country, Sue, I hope to see more and more of it. 😀

  4. That’s one place I’d love to visit! I love gardens! Thanks for the tip Jet! I’ll put that one in my 55 gallon bucket! 🙂

    • Yes, it is Takami. I especially like the rows and rows of border flowers like the begonias pictured here, because it is a beautiful mass of color, sometimes fragrance, and busy bees. Thanks so much for your comment Takami — my best wishes to you~ 😀

    • How nice that you live in Victoria! It’s so beautiful there. No, I don’t live in the area, I’m in northern California, sorry. If I were in Victoria, however, I would definitely try to connect with you Christy; but for now, we can be neighborly on wordpress. I hope I did the Butchart Gardens justice for your local senses…. Thanks so much for your comment dear Christy! 😀 😀

      • Awww thanks for the reply, Jet! I had wondered. Okay if you’re ever in the area again then let me know 🙂 Yes you did a lovely job here of spotlighting the gardens. I am so glad you were able to visit the area! Hugs! 🙂

      • We came to Victoria on a seaplane from Seattle and it was utterly delightful! I am happy to hear a Victorian-Canadian approves of my Victoria post! Many thanks, Christy! 😀

    • I must admit that these gardens were not as peaceful as I would have liked, for there were busloads of tour groups continually arriving. But we found spots of serenity, and engaged in the beauty of flowers. And yes, you would find many delights to photograph here if you visited, dotr. I am so glad you visited here with me today! ;D

Leave a Reply

