Where Marilyn Monroe Rests

Marilyn Monroe

Marilyn Monroe

This past winter I was in Los Angeles on a mission (see Joining Jeopardy….), and while there I decided to see where Marilyn Monroe is buried.  In Hollywood and in movies, here’s a woman who still lives on.

 

An admirer of Marilyn Monroe, I have watched most of her movies many times.  My favorites are:  Some Like It Hot, Niagara, and Gentlemen Prefer Blondes.

 

Westwood Village Memorial Park

Westwood Village Memorial Park

The graveyard is in Westwood, a bustling neighborhood dominated by the University of California Los Angeles.  Looming skyscrapers surround the small cemetery and just around the corner is the multi-laned thoroughfare of Wilshire Boulevard.  Pierce Brothers Westwood Village Memorial Park is the resting place for many other famous stars including Natalie Wood, Roy Orbison, Jack Lemmon, Walter Matthau, Don Knotts, Peggy Lee, George C. Scott, Burt Lancaster and Truman Capote.  Some of the gravestones have jokes, some have photos, and not all are Hollywood film denizens.

 

Marilyn Monroe's Resting Place

Marilyn Monroe’s Resting Place

To get there you have to take a crucial turn into a tiny alley and we went around the block three times, all the time reading the directions over and over, until we finally found the correct turn.  It’s a beautiful resting place.  There are some gravestones in a grassy green area dotted with leafy trees, and numerous blocks of above-ground crypts.

 

Marilyn Monroe rests inside a crypt in this peaceful world.  She had such a rocky existence, this shining star, a life filled with high ups and low downs.

 

Marilyn Monroe 1926-1962

Marilyn Monroe
1926-1962

Prior to visiting her grave I always had a sadness for her, because she passed away so early in life at the destructive hand of her own doing, such a troubled soul.  But when I saw that she was finally in a peaceful place, my sadness gradually vanished.  While I am quite certain that everyone in this cemetery was loved by someone, if not many, Marilyn’s grave is a monument to love.

 

You can see from the photo that her crypt is a different color than the surrounding ones.  It is darker, mellow mauve, from all the fans who have touched it, including me.  There were flowers, coins, mementos and even a boa there, and just a few feet away is a marble bench in her honor.

 

At TCL Chinese Theatre on Hollywood Blvd.

At TCL Chinese Theatre on Hollywood Blvd.

Later that day we went to the Hollywood Walk of Fame, a section of Hollywood Boulevard where more than 2,500 five-pointed stars are embedded into the sidewalk, each representing a hero in the entertainment industry.  Ten million tourists a year visit here.  We also went to what was once called Grauman’s Chinese Theatre (now TCL) in the same vicinity.  In front of the theatre are the actual foot- and handprints of famous actors.

 

Hollywood is a unique place on earth.  That day my head was filled with Marilyn Monroe and all my Hollywood “friends.”  As I absorbed all these characters, many from long ago, it occurred to me that my whole life has been filled by the personalities and talents of these people, even though there is not one who I really know.  That’s the splendor that is Hollywood:  the illusion.

 

Then a miracle happened.  Well, a Hollywood miracle.  We were in the crosswalk, crossing chaotic Hollywood Boulevard when I saw Marilyn Monroe coming toward me!  I was so glad to see her alive!  Of course in the next instant my mind corrected me, it was someone impersonating her.  But for that moment she was sparkling again, in a short flouncy white dress, smiling big, and as real as can be.

 

I must have been staring (I know I was beaming) because just then she smiled at me, and don’t you know, she blew me a kiss!

11 thoughts on “Where Marilyn Monroe Rests

  1. I know the feeling that you so nicely convey about a person that one admires fondly. The only grave that I’ve ever visited other than my relatives has been the grave of Sergei Rachmaninoff in New York! My favorite composer and pianist.

      • Sergei Rachmaninoff is buried on a hilltop in the Kensico Cemetery in Valhalla, New York. The cemetery is about 30 miles from Manhattan.

  2. What sweet musings, Jet. I enjoyed this posting so much. And the finale with MM blowing you a kiss was the frosting on the Hollywood cake!

  3. Wow. I love this post. Thank you. So odd it may sounds, I visit cemeteries so often when possible. In Finland, we have beautiful statues for war veterans on our cemeteries. Those statues we call “Pro Patria”

    If You visit someday in Paris, do not miss this: “Père Lachaise Cemetery”. This cemetery is must for visitors who love history, famous persons etc. We have been there twice. Visiting it requires hours. On our first visit, we searched for the grave Jim Morrison. Here are some names to be find there:

    Oscar Wilde, Simone Signoret, Yves Montand, Edit Piaff, Sarah Bernhardth, Frederik Chopin etc.

    I have many times thought, if somebody could made a guide of those cemeteries where are famous persons. Now You understand why I love Your post. Thank you.

    • Of nearly 400 posts, I do not have any other posts about cemeteries in my entire blog. But I am really glad you found this post, Sartenada, because there is something special and sacred about cemeteries, and clearly you have experienced this. When I go to Paris I will visit the Pere Lachaise Cemetery — thank you so much for the information. 😀

Leave a Reply

